Lifting of US Visa Ban increases Eligible Nationalities for Citizenship by Investment Programmes

US Travel Ban lifted

Dr. Priscilla Mifsud Parker | Published on 22 Jan 2021

US Travel Ban Malta Citizenship Nigeria Libya Eligibility

The first US Travel Ban was introduced in 2017 by the Proclamation intended to enhance vetting capabilities and processes for detecting attempted entry into the US by terrorists or other public safety threats. This US Travel Ban was extended further by formed President Trump on the 31st of January 2020 whereby six additional countries where added to the original ban. The latest ban suspended the issue of immigrant visas and admission to the United States for nationals of Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea, Sudan, Tanzania and Kyrgyzstan.

The effect of this US Travel Ban on countries that are part of the US Visa Waiver Programme, such as Malta, was that countries listed on the US Travel Ban become excluded from applying under various investment migration programmes.

Revocation of the US Travel Ban

Following the inauguration of the newly elected President of the United States Joe Biden, an executive order was issued reversing the US Travel Ban. The lifting of the travel bas was one of the first fifteen decrees signed by President Biden. 

Our Citizenship by Investment Services

The firm is a leader in citizenship and residence by investment programmes and advises international investors and business families on all aspects of taxation, citizenship and residence law.  

Contact Us
Please send me legal and other updates
Key Contacts

Dr Antoine Saliba Haig

Senior Lawyer

+356 22056446

Related Practice Groups
Related Practices